Winix 5500-2 vs 5300-2: Where the Two Models Differ

Last updated:

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This does not change what we recommend. See our affiliate disclaimer.

The Winix 5500-2 and 5300-2 are close relatives. A published spec comparison lists the same headline CADR, the same room rating, the same noise figure, the same power draw and the same body size for both. The differences are in the extras: the 5500-2 adds a VOC smart sensor with an air quality indicator, a timer and a remote, while the 5300-2 is the simpler version. Warranty terms are also listed differently.

The figures below come from a third-party comparison (BestAdvisor), because we could not confirm every figure on a current Winix page. Treat them as reported figures, and verify on Winix’s site and retailer listings, since models are revised and sold in different variants. We have not tested these products ourselves, and we do not list prices.

5300-2 fits

  • Buyers who want the core purifier with fewer extras
  • Those who do not need a remote or VOC readout
  • Mid-sized rooms around 300 sq ft

5500-2 fits

  • Buyers who want a VOC sensor and indicator
  • Those who like a remote and timer
  • Mid-sized rooms around 300 sq ft

Key Takeaways

  • The reported hardware is the same: 246 CADR, 360 sq ft, about 27.8 dB lowest noise, 70 W and the same size and weight.
  • The 5500-2 adds a VOC sensor, air quality indicator, timer and remote.
  • Reported warranty terms differ (2 years vs 1 year), so verify with the seller.
  • Check whether PlasmaWave can be turned off; the EPA advises against ozone-emitting air cleaners.
  • Figures are from a third-party comparison, so confirm on Winix’s current pages.

Running Costs

A 70 watt maximum power draw is notable for a purifier, but most of the time the unit will run at a lower speed and use less. Estimate your cost with watts times hours divided by 1,000 times your electricity rate, using the wattage at your working speed. Both models are listed as ENERGY STAR, which indicates they meet efficiency requirements for that program; confirm the label applies to the exact variant you buy.

Filters are the larger recurring cost. Check the HEPA filter price and the carbon filter cleaning or replacement guidance. We do not list prices, so compare current figures on the retailer page.

Placement and Setup

Place the unit with several inches of clearance and avoid pushing it against a wall or into a corner. The tall, narrow body draws air from the sides and releases it upward, so keep the top clear. Put it in the room where you spend the most time and run it with doors closed. Keep cords out of walkways and away from pets.

If you use the remote, keep it in a place you will remember. If you use the sensor, avoid placing the unit right next to a stove or vent that would constantly trigger it.

Safety and Health Notes

Purifiers reduce airborne particles but do not replace ventilation or source control. For gas smells, carbon monoxide alarms or heavy smoke, leave the area and get help. This article provides general information and is not medical advice. If you have a respiratory condition, ask your clinician what steps are right for you.

Decision Examples

A 280 square foot primary bedroom with a light sleeper: either model works at low speed, and the lower-feature 5300-2 may be enough if you plan to set it and forget it. A 320 square foot living room with a kitchen opening: the VOC sensor on the 5500-2 can help you notice cooking odors, and the timer and remote are handy if the unit sits across the room. A rental where you may move: weigh the unit’s weight of about 15 pounds and size before buying.

If your room is above 350 square feet, or if you have heavy smoke exposure, consider a higher-CADR option instead of pushing these units to their limit.

How to Verify Before Buying

Open Winix’s current page for the exact model number, including the dash and suffix. Check the CADR table for smoke, dust and pollen, the filter list, the warranty and whether PlasmaWave has an off switch. Look at retailer listings to confirm that the variant matches. Check that replacement filters are available and note the part numbers.

Because this comparison relies on third-party figures, treat it as a starting point. If a number differs from the manufacturer’s page, trust the manufacturer’s page.

What We Do Not Know

We could not confirm the filter replacement interval, the exact CADR breakdown or whether the listed warranty applies to every seller. Those are the kinds of details that change by region and year, so check them before you commit. If you need help comparing two specific listings, apply the same checklist to both and favor the one with clearer documentation.

Air Purifiers to Compare

The table below lists purifiers from our affiliate partner for larger rooms. Compare smoke CADR, room size, filter cost and noise across brands.

PlasmaWave and Ozone

Winix lists its PlasmaWave technology in the extras. The EPA advises against air cleaners that deliberately emit ozone, and ionization-related features can raise questions for people with asthma. Check Winix’s current statements about ozone and whether PlasmaWave can be turned off on your model, and consider running the unit with it off if you prefer a purely mechanical filter approach.

Factor5300-2 (reported)5500-2 (reported)
CADR / room246, 360 sq ft246, 360 sq ft
Noise (lowest)About 27.8 dBAbout 27.8 dB
Air quality indicatorNoYes (VOC sensor)
Remote / timerNot listedListed
Warranty (reported)2 years1 year

What the Comparison Lists

Both models are listed with a CADR figure of 246 (unit not stated) and a room rating of 360 square feet. Both list four fan speeds, a noise level of about 27.8 dB at the lowest setting, power of 70 watts, a size of about 23.6 by 15 by 8.2 inches and a weight of about 15.4 pounds. Both are listed as ENERGY STAR and cUL listed.

Filters are described as a pre-filter, a washable carbon filter and a True HEPA filter. Both list a filter indicator light. The comparison does not state the filter replacement interval, so check the manual.

Where They Differ

The 5500-2 is listed with a VOC smart sensor and an air quality indicator, plus a timer and a remote control. The 5300-2 is listed with smart sensors and a variable speed selector but no air quality indicator. The comparison lists a 2-year warranty for the 5300-2 and a 1-year warranty for the 5500-2, though warranty terms can differ by seller and region, so verify before buying.

In practice, the choice is whether the VOC sensor, indicator, timer and remote are worth it to you. The purifying hardware is reported as the same.

Sizing the 360 Square Foot Claim

A room rating of 360 square feet depends on the air-change rate the manufacturer assumed. If the 246 figure is a smoke CADR, the AHAM two-thirds rule would support roughly 370 square feet at about 4.8 air changes per hour for an eight-foot ceiling, which is consistent with the claim. If it is a dust or pollen figure, the smoke rating would be lower and the real coverage smaller. Check the manufacturer’s CADR table for smoke, dust and pollen separately.

For a bedroom of 200 to 300 square feet, either model should have headroom and can be run at a lower speed. For an open living room above 350 square feet, the unit has little margin.

Noise and Daily Use

The reported noise figure of about 27.8 dB applies to the lowest speed, which is quiet. At higher speeds the fan will be louder, and a 70 watt power rating suggests that the top speed moves a lot of air. Look at independent measurements for the speeds you plan to use. Both units have a sleep-friendly low setting, though the presence of indicator lights and displays varies, so check for a way to dim them.

The VOC Sensor and Indicator

The 5500-2’s VOC sensor detects certain airborne compounds and shows the result on an indicator. It can be handy for noticing odors from cooking, cleaning or new furniture. Sensors measure relative changes and cannot identify specific chemicals or confirm that the air is safe. Use the readings as a prompt to ventilate or remove the source, and do not treat them as safety data.

Filters and Maintenance

Both models are described with a pre-filter, a washable carbon filter and a True HEPA filter. The washable carbon filter can be cleaned according to the manual, which may lower running costs, but carbon still saturates over time. Follow the manual for cleaning intervals, and replace the HEPA filter on schedule. The comparison does not state the replacement interval, so confirm it and the cost before buying.

Which One to Choose

If you want the same purifying hardware at the lowest feature level, the 5300-2 is the simpler model. If you want the VOC readout, timer and remote, the 5500-2 adds them. Since the core airflow figures are reported as the same, do not pay extra for features you will not use. Check the current price, warranty terms and availability, and be aware that models and bundles change.

How to Choose

  1. Check whether the listed CADR is for smoke, dust or pollen.
  2. Compare filter cost and interval.
  3. Decide whether a VOC sensor and remote are worth it.
  4. Check whether PlasmaWave can be turned off.
  5. Avoid ozone-generating modes; the EPA advises against ozone-emitting air cleaners.

Do

  • Match the unit’s rated coverage to your room first
  • Run it consistently, not only when the air feels bad
  • Leave space around the unit for airflow
  • Replace filters on the maker’s schedule

Don’t

  • Do not buy on looks or price alone
  • Do not block the intake or exhaust
  • Do not skip filter changes
  • Do not expect a purifier to fix every source of pollution

Honest Limits

  • This guide uses manufacturer information and public guidance from the EPA and AHAM, not our own lab tests.
  • Features and room ratings change between model years, so confirm on the listing before you buy.
  • A purifier is not a medical device and does not replace medical advice or treatment.

Who Should Skip This

When to See a Professional

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the main difference between the Winix 5500-2 and 5300-2?

The 5500-2 is listed with a VOC smart sensor and indicator, a timer and a remote. Core capacity figures are reported as the same.

How big a room do they cover?

The comparison lists 360 square feet for both. Check the CADR type and compare with the AHAM two-thirds rule.

Are the filters washable?

The carbon filter is described as washable. The HEPA filter should be replaced per the manual.

What is PlasmaWave?

It is a Winix feature listed in extras. The EPA advises against ozone-emitting air cleaners, so check whether it can be turned off.

Are these specs official?

They come from a third-party comparison. Verify on Winix’s current pages.

Bottom Line

The two Winix models share the same reported capacity, so the choice is mostly about extras.

Verify the exact variant, warranty and PlasmaWave settings before buying.

Related reading: sens,fan,bed

Sources: EPA, Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home; AHAM Verifide.

Leave a Comment